Marcus of Umbria: What an Italian Dog Taught an American Girl about Love

Connie's Book Club

Connie's Book Club

Marcus of Umbria: What an Italian Dog Taught an American Girl about Love

Marcus of Umbria: What an Italian Dog Taught an American Girl about Love

Fans of books like Eat, Pray, Love will enjoy Marcus of Umbria, a story of self-discovery rooted in travel, romance, friendship, and adventure. Fed up with her fast-paced life in New York City, Justine van der Leun leaves her job, sublets her apartment, and moves to a small historic Umbrian farming village, population: 200. In pursuit of a new love and a new life, she sets up in this tiny town, beginning a romance with the local farmer she met on vacation. Through this relationship, she learns about the deep and rich traditions of the Italian townspeople, but finds the cultural adjustment more difficult than she has imagined. When the love affair sours, Justine finds a new love in an unexpected place—a rusty, tick-infested pen. Marcus, the hunting dog she rescues from this pit, becomes her longed-for companion and it’s through their exploration of the picturesque countryside that Justine discovers an existence deeply connected with the earth and develops a clearer understanding of herself and ideals, the intersection of culture and character, and the intricacies and joys of Italian small-town life. A perfect book to bring on vacation.

Dog of the Week!

Meet: Dexter